Yoga before bed

I’m not a master yogi (I will forever think ‘bear’ after that word, and if you don’t get that reference you’re too young). What I am is over 25 and achey first thing when I wake up in the morning. At least I was. I started doing nightly yoga stretches before bed and first thing in the morning maybe two months ago. I’ll admit, I was initially disappointed when I couldn’t master every single pose flawlessly. I took gymnastics and ballet as a kid. I literally just assumed my body would know what to do. It did not. I spent weeks practically graceless, feeling my body scream of bad posture, serial couch sitting, and Netflix binging on my tablet. My knees, in particular were not fans.

Then one day (sorta just yesterday), I realised I could bend further forward, I could hold position backwards, I could kneel for more than three seconds! Don’t laugh, that was a huge accomplishment for me. And that’s the point, I guess. Yoga is addictive. It’s not all hot instructors, aroma therapy, and cute lounge clothes. Yoga challenges what you knew about your body and to some extent can heal it. I now wake up without the stiff soreness I usually equated the morning with. I’m excited to see where more of this takes me. I didn’t get it before, but now I see there’s a kind of peace that comes with being nice to your body and letting it love you back. It’s like making a new friend and finding yourself all at the same time. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

